Thursday, September 07, 2006

Lucky

Well, it's official- I'm a working girl. Not that kind of working girl (or maybe it was just me that thought that...), but a real 9 to 5-er; in case you didn't figure it out, I got the job at the university. I start Monday- this is my last week of freedom. And what am I doing on this last Thursday when I can stay up late and be crazy and wild? Sitting at home alone watching TV and blogging. I really am lame. But at least I'm not unemployed and lame.

I'm nervous. I'm still convinced they will realize that I'm a fraud, that I'm really not qualified to live in the adult world. Maybe I'm not; I don't feel like I am. I went shopping last weekend with my friend- I'll call her Mrs-Mrs., as she is currently obsessed with being a perfect wife- and I felt like I was buying a costume for a play. I bought conservative pants and tasteful shirts and sensible (but still super cute) shoes. I have even got a whole costume design in mind, in keeping with the university setting; I'm going to look like I walked right off the set from the Dead Poet's Society (or any other movie set on a college setting in the late fifties/early sixties), all tweed and sweater-sets and penny loafers, but modernized. See- I talk like I'm in a movie. I have no grasp on reality.

I just have to keep reminding myself that I am not signing a contract in blood. If I hate it, I can leave. But the benefits are great, and they are paying me really well (well, much better anyway). Today I did a test run of getting up at seven and driving up to the campus in rush hour. I made it ten minutes early, even after leaving ten minutes late.

I am a dork. But a dork with a job....